

Santa Cruz Mid-County Groundwater Basin GROUNDWATER SUSTAINABILITY PLAN

November 2019



ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS



The Santa Cruz Mid-County Groundwater Agency gratefully acknowledges the funding contribution from the California Department of Water Resources. Funding for this project has been provided in part from the Water Quality, Supply, and Infrastructure Improvement Act of 2014 and through an agreement with the Department of Water Resources.



SANTA CRUZ MID-COUNTY GROUNDWATER AGENCY BOARD MEMBERS

Curt Abramson, Private Well Owner Rep. David G. Baskin, Water Commissioner City of Santa Cruz Dr. Bruce Daniels, SqCWD Board President Zach Friend, Supervisor County of Santa Cruz Jon Kennedy, Private Well Owner Rep. James Kerr, Private Well Owner Rep. Dr. Tom LaHue, SqCWD Director John Leopold, Supervisor County of Santa Cruz Robert Marani, CWD Director Cynthia Mathews, Council Member City of Santa Cruz Marco Romanini, CWD Director

GROUNDWATER SUSTAINABILITY PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Kate Anderton, Environmental John Bargetto, Agriculture David Baskin, City of Santa Cruz Rich Casale, Small Water System Management Keith Gudger, At Large Dr. Bruce Jaffe, SqCWD Director Dana Katofsky McCarthy, Rate Payer Jon Kennedy, Private Well Jonathan Lear, At Large Marco Romanini, CWD Director Allyson Violante, County of Santa Cruz Thomas Wyner for Cabrillo College, Institutional

MEMBER AGENCY STAFF

Soquel Creek Water District City of Santa Cruz Water Department County of Santa Cruz Water Resources Central Water District General Manager Ron Duncan and staff Director Rosemary Menard and staff Director John Ricker, Sierra Ryan and staff District Manager Ralph Bracamonte

PLANNING, TECHNICAL, & FACILITATION SUPPORT

Regional Water Management Foundation: Tim Carson, Laura Partch, Darcelle Pruitt Montgomery & Associates: Georgina King, Cameron Tana, Derrik Williams Kearns & West: Eric Poncelet, Cici Vu









ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE (TAC) MEMBERS AND OTHER PARTICIPANTS

TAC MEMBERSHIP

Bruce Daniels, Ph.D. President, Soquel Creek Water District Board - Hydroclimatology, Climate Change

Andrew Fisher, Ph.D. University of California, Santa Cruz - Professor, Hydrogeology. UC Water Security and Sustainability Research Initiative (UC Water)

Barry Hecht, Balance Hydrologics – Principal Geomorphologist, Hydrogeologist, Surface Water-Groundwater Interactions

Brian Lockwood, PV Water - General Manager, Hydrologist

Robert Marks, Pueblo Water Resources, Inc. - Principal Hydrogeologist, Consultant to City of Santa Cruz

MODELING TEAM

Pascual Benito, Montgomery and Associates - Senior Hydrogeologist

Sean Culkin, formerly Montgomery and Associates - Senior Hydrogeologist

Hanieh Haeri, Montgomery & Associates - Engineering Hydrologist

Justin Huntington, Huntington Hydrologic, Desert Research Institute - PRMS and GSFLOW setup

Georgina King Montgomery and Associates - Senior Hydrogeologist

John Mejia, Montgomery & Associates – Hydrologist, Desert Research Institute, climate downscaling

Cameron Tana, Montgomery and Associates - Principal Hydrologist

Linda Woolfenden, US Geological Survey - GSFLOW experience

TAC MEETING PARTICIPANTS:

Shawn Chartrand, Balance Hydrologics - Principal Geomorphologist, Hydrologist, consultant to City of Santa Cruz

Nick de Sieyes, private well owner at invitation of Central Water District

Jon Kennedy, MGA Board member, private well representative

Eric Poncelet, MGA GSP facilitation team

Joel Smith, subconsultant to City of Santa Cruz on climate futures

MGA PARTICIPANTS:

Ralph Bracamonte, Central Water District – General Manager

Tim Carson, Regional Water Management Foundation, Program Director

Brice Dahlmeier, Soquel Creek Water District – Associate Engineer

Taj Dufour, Soquel Creek Water District - Engineering Manager

Ron Duncan, Soquel Creek Water District - General Manager

Heidi Luckenbach, City of Santa Cruz Water Department - Deputy Water Director/Engineering Manager

Rosemary Menard, City of Santa Cruz Water Department - Water Director

Melanie Mow Schumacher, Soquel Creek Water District - Special Projects, Communication Manager

Darcelle Pruitt, Regional Water Management Foundation - Senior Planner

John Ricker, Santa Cruz County Health Services Agency, Environmental Health – Water Resources Division Director

Sierra Ryan, Santa Cruz County Health Services Agency, Environmental Health – Water Resources Planner

Isidro Rivera, City of Santa Cruz Water Department - Associate Civil Engineer

SURFACE WATER WORKING GROUP PARTICIPATING ORGANIZATIONS

California Department of Fish and Wildlife – Randi Adair, Stephanie Holstege, John Jankowitz, Michelle Leicester, and Monica Oey

California Department of Water Resources (DWR) – Amanda Peisch Derby

City of Santa Cruz – Ezekiel Bean, Chris Berry, and Chris Coburn

Environmental Defense Fund (EDF) – Christina Babbitt, Sarah Fakhreddine, Maurice Hall, and Anthony Saracino.

Friends of Soquel Creek – Carla Christensen

GSP Advisory Committee – Kate Anderton, Keith Gudger, Dr. Bruce Jaffe, Jon Lear, and Allyson Violante

Montgomery & Assoc. (MGA Technical Consultants) – Georgina King and Cameron Tana The Nature Conservancy (TNC) – Melissa Rohde

National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS, formerly NOAA Fisheries) – Darren Howe, Rick Rogers, William Stevens, and Andres Ticlavilca

Pajaro Valley Water Management Agency (PV Water) – Brian Lockwood and Casey Meusel Resource Conservation District SCC (RCD) – Lizzy Eichorn and Lisa Lurie

Santa Cruz County – Kristen Kittleson, John Ricker, and Sierra Ryan

Regional Water Management Foundation - Darcelle Pruitt

US Fish and Wildlife Service – Chad Mitcham

Thank you to all of the community members who participated in public meetings, information sessions, and various MGA events. Your input helped to shape this Plan.

